I want to mpologize at the start because this will likely be short. I hope to be up to create writing again soon, but until then I want to maintain some momentum. Thanks for slogging through with me! – anne

Rough Night

Sadly I suppose the thing I’m most known for being sick. A lot. All the time. I have severe chronic back pain and chronic illnesses that causes extreme facial neuralgia attacks. Let’s roll all that together with resulting chronic fatigue syndrome and prexisting bipolar disorder and my life is pretty busy. My mind and nervous system are at it 24/7. Overworked. My body can’t handle much- emotionally or physically. Just maintaining daily, day in- day out, activities fry my nerves and drain my energy. 
Just being me is a physically demanding, high stress occupation where there isn’t truly time off. I spent half of Christmas in bed. I missed our New Year’s Day Open House- in my own home!- because my facial neuralgia pain was terrible. 

I have all kinds of trick, tips, hacks, and meds to help. At times they do, sometimes they don’t. Nothing helps the fatigue except resting, virtually still, until I’ve recharged.

There is a concept of “spoons” in the cronic illness and fatique community.

The spoon theory is a disability metaphor used to explain the reduced amount of energy available for activities of daily living and productive tasks that may result from disability or chronic illness. 

Spoons are an intangible unit of measurement used to track how much energy a person has throughout a given day. Each activity requires a given number of spoons, which will only be replaced as the person “recharges” through rest. A person who runs out of spoons has no choice but to rest until their spoons rested enough to rebuild their spoons.

One of the tenets of the spoon theory is that many people with disabilities or chronic illness must carefully plan their daily activities to conserve their spoons, while most people without any disabilities or chronic illnesses do not need to worry about running out. Because healthy people do not feel the impact of spending spoons for mundane tasks such as bathing and getting dressed, they may not realize the amount of energy expended by chronically ill or disabled people to get through the day.  

Spoons are widely discussed within autoimmune, disability, and other chronic illness communities, but the concept of spoons is otherwise considered a neologism. The term Spoonie is sometimes used to refer to a person with a chronic illness that can be explained with the spoon theory.

Wiki- The Spoon Theory
Becoming overworked is a big danger for chronically ill individuals. Spoons are precious to Spoonies and we spend them wisely. Occasionally you can “borrow” from tomorrow’s spoons, but you’re new already in the overworked hole for a day that hasn’t started! 

For the full story on spoons, Spoonies, and our back story, please visit https://butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory/

Wishing you a low pain day!

-anne
Overworked

Leave a Reply

